Idaho marijuana laws have a record of dealing stringently with anyone involved in the sale and cultivation of marijuana in the state. Idaho is one amongst the 34 states which have till now not approved any medical or non-medical usage of marijuana. The possession, usage and selling of marijuana is seen as a crime across all the states in the US and the severity of the penalty varies from state to state. Idaho marijuana laws do not allow medical usage of marijuana but some towns based in the state are today taking the initiative to explore the issue.
This means the law in Idaho treats both medical and non-medical users of marijuana as non-medical users and penalizes anyone with the possession of such drugs. If a person is found with marijuana for the first time and is a non-violent offender the law takes somewhat soft stance towards the person. USA marijuana laws differ from state to state and also from county to county this sometimes also leads to clash with the federal laws. Idaho marijuana laws impose strict penalties on people who are found to cultivate or sell marijuana. To further penalize those found violating the marijuana law the state slaps tax stamp law which charges the accused $3.50 per gram or $775 if caught with a marijuana plant.
Any individual caught with the possession of marijuana are dealt with softer fines and sentences than any one found guilty of cultivating or selling the drug. If a person is found to be in the influence of marijuana at the time of arrest, it is considered to be a case of misdemeanor and for this the person will have to pay $1000 as fine and spend up to 6 months in jail. If a person is found possessing 3 ounces or less quantity of marijuana it will be again considered a case of misdemeanor like the above case and will include a $1000 fine but the jail sentence will be extended up to 1 year. Possessing more than 3 ounces of marijuana will be considered as felony and the accused will have to cough out up to $10,000 in fines along with a prison sentence of 5 years.
Penalties for growing or selling marijuana
If a person is found selling less than 1 pound or growing less than 25 plants, he or she will be fined $15,000 and spend 5 years in jail. If the amount increases to between 1 to 5 pounds or 25 to 49 plants the fines will range from $5,000 to $50,000 including 1 year mandatory jail term.
All the cases involving growing or selling marijuana is considered is charged as felony due to which it attracts harsher punishment. Further if a person is found with 5 to 25 pounds or 50 to 99 plants the fine will be in the range of $10,000 – $50,000 with 3 years mandatory jail term. The punishment increases even more if a person is found possessing more than 25 pounds of marijuana or more than 100 marijuana plants and in this case the fines will ranges from $15,000 to $50,000 along with a mandatory prison term for 5 years.
Moreover, Idaho marijuana laws also forbids sale of such drug to minors or selling at a place where minors are present. In both these cases the fines and jail terms gets doubled for the accused.