Consumption of marijuana is on a rise in the US state of Montana. Perhaps, this is the reason that Montana marijuana laws have been made to curb the allure of marijuana from spreading across the state and especially amongst young adults. Be it Mississippi marijuana laws or Montana marijuana laws, all such legal measures are aimed at stopping the use and growth of marijuana drug in their respective areas. Please read on as we introduce you to some of the strict Montana marijuana laws regarding the possession, selling, trafficking and cultivating marijuana drug.
Montana Marijuana Possession Laws
Possessing marijuana drug is considered a crime in Montana State. A person found possessing 60g or less marijuana for the first time is considered as misdemeanor. It can result in a penalty of up to 6 months imprisonment or a fine ranging from $100 to $500. On the other hand, possessing 60g or less marijuana for the second time is considered as felony and can lead to 3 years of imprisonment or a fine of up to $1,000. Quite evidentially the law is quite strict when compared some other states in US which are more lenient in the use of Marijuana.
You must also keep in mind that possessing more than 60g or this drug can lead to an imprisonment of up to 20 years or a fine of up to $50,000. Non-medical users when caught with a small amount of marijuana drug for the first time are treated lightly by the Montana court system. On the other hand, users caught with large amounts of this drug for multiple times are subjected to great punishments and felony convictions.
Montana Marijuana Cultivation Laws
US state Montana has different marijuana laws for cultivation. As per these laws, a person found growing 1 pound or less of this drug can be penalized with up to 10 years of imprisonment or a fine of up to $50,000. Growing more than 1 pound or 30 plants of marijuana can lead to a mandatory minimum sentence of 2 years along with a fine of $50,000. Also, keep in mind that with each additional offence, the penalty is doubled.
Montana Marijuana Selling Laws
Montana marijuana laws also comprise laws for selling this harmful drug. Selling any amount of this drug, no matter small or big is considered felony and can result into penalties of 1 year of imprisonment and a $50,000 fine. Selling marijuana to a minor is a severe crime that can lead to 2 years of imprisonment and a $50,000 fine. Moreover, if anyone is found selling marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school is considered as felony and can lead to 2 years of imprisonment and a $50,000 fine.
Montana DUID Laws
Also, check out the Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana Drug (DUID) in Montana. You will be shocked to know that unlike other US marijuana laws, Montana marijuana laws doesn’t comprise of any DUID laws. One should also keep in mind that marijuana related charges in Montana can be lightened with the help of a marijuana lawyer. In fact, an attorney can plea you case down to a lesser charge or even sometimes dismissal of the cases.
So, now we assume that you have got enough information about Montana marijuana laws and you will dare not use, sell, grow or possess this illegal drug in Montana or any other US state.