Tennessee is one of those places in the US that maintain strict marijuana laws. Though, US as a whole has very strict marijuana laws, Tennessee is one of those places in the US that maintain very strict marijuana laws. A person found addicted to marijuana in this US state can be charged with a drug case that can further lead to a fine ranging from $250 to $1,000. Just like Texas Marijuana Laws, the drug fine in Tennessee depends on the defendant’s previous offenses. Moreover, anyone charged with a felony in a drug case can be subjected to mandatory fines ranging from $2,000 and $5,000.
Drug Abuse Statistics in Tennessee
As per the drug abuse statistics, the Drug Enforcement Administration has revealed an annual harvest of almost 700,000 lbs of marijuana and it is estimated to be sold between $3 billion dollars and $4.8 billion dollars on retail price. Moreover, a survey in 2002 revealed that the state of Tennessee had 13,486 arrests due to marijuana related crimes. This statistics is increasing day by day due to the youth’s increasing addiction to marijuana and other drugs in Tennessee.
Growing Marijuana in Tennessee
Now, read on to know what are the laws regarding growing marijuana in Tennessee. Keep in mind that growing marijuana is this US state can lead to extensive jail time and fines for the grower. A person growing 10 or less marijuana plants can be sent to prison term for one to six years or can be fined up to $5,000. On the other hand, 19 plants of this drug can lead to a person prison sentenced for 2 to 12 years or a fine of up to $50,000. 20 to 99 marijuana plants can also lead to prison sentence of 3 to 15 years or a fine of up to $100,000. Marijuana plants grown between 100 and 499 can lead to a prison sentence of 8 to 30 years or a fine of $200,000 fine. Last of all, growing 500 marijuana plants can lead to 15 to 60 years of imprisonment or a fine of $500,000.
Selling Marijuana in Tennessee
You must also check out the strict USA marijuana laws in Tennessee regarding its sale. One must remember that selling marijuana in Tennessee also has very stiff penalties. If one is caught selling more than one-half ounce of marijuana can face felony charges. Moreover, for the first time, when a person is caught selling marijuana can be fined up to $2,000 or $3,000 for second offense and $5,000 for subsequent violations. People selling marijuana more than one-half ounce or up to 10 lbs can be imprisoned for up to six years and selling 10 to 70 lbs of this harmful drug can lead to up to 12 years of imprisonment.
Misdemeanor Marijuana Penalties in Tennessee
Three laws in Tennessee are classified under misdemeanor and one of them is for possessing marijuana of one-half ounce or less that can lead to imprisonment for a few years or a fine. Possession of drug paraphernalia is also considered misdemeanor penalty for first offense and subsequent convictions of the drug is also misdemeanor marijuana penalty in Tennessee.
So, now we assume that you have got a fair knowledge regarding the Tennessee marijuana laws for selling, growing and misdemeanor.