The state of Texas in US is currently fighting the scourge of drug abuse in the form of marijuana addiction especially among the youth. As per DEA or Drug Enforcement Administration, Texas state in the US was reported to have an annual harvest of over 69,000lbs of marijuana drug. Moreover, this estimated drug production was sold at a retail value between $343 million dollars and $549 million dollars. Read on to know about Texas marijuana laws and various aspects that they cover.
Texas Marijuana Possession Penalty
USA marijuana laws comprises of different state laws, such as Texas marijuana laws.
While some states take a relatively lenient view of marijuana use, the state of Texas has relatively very strict laws. Under Texas laws a person found possessing less than 2oz of marijuana can be penalized under Class B misdemeanor with an incarceration for a period of up to 180 days and a fine of $2,000. A On the other hand, a person found possessing between 2oz and 4oz can be penalized under Class A misdemeanor with an incarceration for up to 1 year and a fine of $4,000. Case of state jail felony can be charged on a person possessing between 4oz and 5lb of marijuana drug and this can in turn result in a penalty of 180 days to 2 years incarceration and a fine of $10,000.
It is also very important to note that a person found with quantities between 5lbs to 50lbs of marijuana drug will be charged with felony of the third degree and this can lead to a penalty of incarceration of 2 to 10 years and a fine of $10,000. One may also know that possessing 50lbs to 2,000lbs of marijuana drug can be penalized with incarceration of 2 to 20 years and a fine of $10,000. As per Texas marijuana law, possessing more than 2,000lbs of this harmful drug can lead to penalty of incarceration of 5 to 99 years and a fine of $50,000. Keep in mind that first time offenders found for possessing marijuana in Texas will also face mandatory drug criminal charge.
Texas Marijuana Selling Penalty
Similar to Tennessee marijuana laws, Texas marijuana laws calls for strict punishment for selling marijuana. Selling up to 1/4 oz of marijuana is charged as Class B misdemeanor and can result to incarceration of 180 days and a fine of $2,000. On the other hand, selling between 1/4oz and 5lbs is stated as state jail felony and can lead to incarceration of 180 days to 2 years with a fine of $10,000. Felony of the second degree will be charged for a person selling between 5lbs and 50lbs of marijuana and it can result to an incarceration of 2 to 20 years and a fine of $10,000.
One must note that selling between 50lbs and 2,000lbs of marijuana is regarded as felony of the first degree that leads to incarceration of 5 to 99 years and a fine of $10,000. Keep in mind that selling more than 2,000lbs of marijuana is considered as a serious felony and can be penalized with a mandatory incarceration of 10 to 99 years and a fine of $100,000.
So, now we are sure that you have got adequate knowledge about Texas marijuana drug laws for possessing, selling and DUID penalty.