USA marijuana laws show very little mercy on anyone found guilty of marijuana usage, be it a young person or an old person and especially on repeat offenders. Marijuana is mostly considered as an illegal substance made of dried leaves, flowers or steps of the hemp plant. THC found in marijuana is very harmful for the body as a whole. Perhaps, this is the reason that US has taken a step to curb this drug abuse by bringing forward Virginia marijuana laws. Check out Virginia marijuana laws for possessing, selling, growing and other usages of marijuana by reading this article.
Virginia Marijuana Possession Penalty
Selling marijuana is considered a crime in the state of Virginia in the US. You must know that selling different amounts of marijuana calls for different penalties and punishments. For instance, selling more than a specific amount of marijuana results to a mandatory minimum sentence of 20 years in prison. Selling marijuana to a minor is considered even a greater crime and can lead to 10 to 50 years of imprisonment and $100,000 fine. First time offenders found possessing marijuana in any amount can be penalized with 30 days of incarceration and $500 fine and for subsequent offence, it can lead to 1 year imprisonment and up to $2,500 in fines.
Virginia Marijuana Selling Penalty – Key details that one should be aware off
Remember that selling marijuana drug in any amount within 1,000ft of a school premise results to a felony charge and can lead to 1 to 5 years of imprisonment and $100,000. You must also know that 1/2oz or less marijuana is considered misdemeanor and can lead to 1 year of imprisonment and $2,500 fine. Selling 1/2oz to 5lbs of marijuana in Virginia results in 1 to 10 years of jail sentence and $2,500 fine. A person found selling 5lbs to 100kg of marijuana results in 5 to 30 years of jail sentence and $2,500 fine.
Virginia Marijuana Cultivation Penalty
Apart from selling and possessing Virginia marijuana laws, there are Virginia marijuana cultivation laws and penalties. A person found growing or cultivating any amount of this illegal drug can be charged with felony of 5 to 30 years of incarceration and $10,000 fine. There is no scope of reduction in this penalty in Virginia marijuana laws.
Virginia Marijuana Miscellaneous Penalties
Just like Wisconson marijuana laws, Virginia too has various marijuana penalties for use of paraphernalia. A person found selling paraphernalia in Virginia will be charged with misdemeanor of 1 year imprisonment and $2,500 fine. Selling this drug to a minor calls for a felony charge of 1 to 5 years of imprisonment and $2,500 fine. Also, note tat probation with deferred proceeding is also possible for first time offenders and drivers driving under the influence of marijuana can end up surrendering their driving license.
Difference Between Felony and Misdemeanor
If you are confused between a felony and misdemeanor, then here is the difference between the two. Possessing heroin, ecstasy, cocaine, meth and other drugs classified under schedule 1 and schedule 2 result in felony and possessing marijuana drug under schedule 3, 4 and 5 are considered as misdemeanor.
So, now we are sure you have acquainted yourself with all the latest and essential Virginia marijuana laws regarding its sale, growth, possession and usage.