Like other US states, Wisconsin also adheres to strict marijuana laws to keep a check on this drug abuse. However, unlike other US states, Wisconsin is bit lenient with first time offenders in marijuana cases. USA Marijuana laws has different punishments for marijuana usage in its different states. Selling, growing, possessing and using this illegal drug can call for severe punishments in Wisconsin state of USA. Read on to learn about the different Wisconsin marijuana laws.
Wisconsin Marijuana Possession Laws
As per Wisconsin marijuana laws, possessing this harmful drug can lead to jail sentences and fines. First time offenders found possessing small or large amount of marijuana drug is considered misdemeanor and can lead to incarceration for period of up to 6 months along with a fine of $500. A repeated offence of possessing any amount of marijuana is considered as felony and results in 2 years of imprisonment with a fine of $2,000.
There are no different marijuana possession laws for medical marijuana users. In fact, Wisconsin doesn’t consider marijuana as a medical drug and doesn’t grant any leniency for marijuana usage for medical purposes. In other words, marijuana users are bound to face criminal possession charges in Wisconsin.
Wisconsin Marijuana Growing & Selling Laws
Also, check out Wisconsin marijuana growing and selling laws. Keep in mind that selling or growing 200g or 1 to 4 plants of marijuana is considered as felony and can lead to imprisonment of 3.5 years with a fine of up to $10,000. Selling 200g to 1,000g or growing 5 to 20 plants of marijuana can be considered as felony with a penalty of incarceration for 6 years with a fine of $10,000.
On the other hand, growing 21 to 50 plants of marijuana and selling 1,000g to 2,000g of this drug can lead to incarceration of 10 years with a fine of $25,000. Selling 2,500g to 10,000g or growing 51 to 200 marijuana plants results to incarceration of 12.5 years and a fine of $25,000. It is also important to know that selling more than 1,000g of marijuana drug and growing 200 plants of this drug can lead to 15 years of incarceration with a fine of $25,000.
Wisconsin Marijuana Paraphernalia Charges
There are different Wisconsin Marijuana Paraphernalia Charges according to which, possessing Paraphernalia is considered misdemeanor and results to incarceration of 30 days with a fine of $500. A person found selling Paraphernalia is penalized with 90 days incarceration and $1,000 fine. Like Virginia marijuana laws, Wisconsin marijuana laws also considers selling Paraphernalia to a minor as misdemeanor and can result to a penalty of $10,000 fine and 9 months of incarceration.
Wisconsin Marijuana DUID Laws
One must also know the Wisconsin marijuana DUID laws or Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana Drug Laws. Wisconsin has zero tolerance law for anyone found driving under the influence of marijuana drug and it enforces very strict laws on such offenders. Assistance from marijuana lawyers can be sought to get some relief from marijuana DUID law punishment in Wisconsin. However one should absolutely never attempt to drive under the influence of any substance and should be aware that such behavior can serious consequences.
So, now we assume that you have got a good knowledge about Wisconsin Marijuana Laws regarding the possession, selling and growing marijuana and would thus hopefully be able to help friends and family members in addressing any drug related issue and encourage them to a path towards rehabilitation.